Joomla 3.1 Templates by FatCow Coupon


2011 Scholastic Championships

The 2011 Scholastic Championships were held at the Samuel A. Heyward Career & Technology Center in Columbia on March 5, 2011.  One Hundred Thirty-Three students participated.  This was one of the largest turnouts in the event's history.

Games from High School Section, Boards 1 & 2:


For the first time, the SCCA invited four college students to participate in a round-robin College Section.  Daniel Dodds of Thomas Edison State College won this inaugural event.  He won the 2009 High School title with a perfect score, the last player to go undefeated in that section.


Kenzie Moore (1877) D.W. Daniel High School, Zachary Templeton (1747) D.W. Daniel High School,Jonathan Sarasua (1515) D.W. Daniel High School, Daniel Caiello (1386), Home School, and DSC00448 432x3242011 High School Co-ChampionsMorgan Wang (1222) D.W. Daniel High School, tied for first in the High School section, each scoring 4.0.  Daniel Caiello took home the first place trophy on tie break. Max Witherell of Richland Northeast threw the High School Section into chaos with his upset win over top rated Kenzie Moore in their second round encounter.

Daniel Caiello will represent South Carolina in the Denker National Tournament of High School Champions in Orlando, Florida this summer.  Hannah "Tori" Whatley received the invitation to participate in the Susan Polgar National Invitational at Texas Tech University in Lubbock, Texas, in July.

D.W. Daniel High School won the high school team trophy.  This is D.W. Daniel's fourth consecutive team championship.

High School Grade Champions
12th grade: Kenzie Moore, D.W. Daniel High School
11th grade: Karl Schober, Governor's School for Science and Mathematics
10th grade: Morgan Wang, D.W. Daniel High School
9th grade: Luke Lepak, Saint Joseph Catholic School


Kevis Tsao of R.C. Edwards Middle School won the middle school title, scoring a perfect 5.0. Benjamin Caiello won the second place trophy on tie break, scoring 4.0.  Gordon Zhang  of of R.C. Edwards won the third place trophy on tie break, also scoring 4.0.

R.C. Edwards Middle School won the middle school team championship for the sixth year in a row.

Middle School Grade Champions:
8th grade: Torin Moore, R.C. Edwards Middle School
7th grade: Roger Wilson, R.C. Edwards Middle School
6th grade: Perry Fleming, Bamberg Middle School (tie break winner), and Benjamin Ragan, Saint Joseph Catholic School


Chris Hoogenboom of Riverview Charter School won the elementary school title with a perfect 5.0 score. Aditya Dias of Five Oaks Academy won the second place trophy in the elementary school section on tie break, scoring 4.5.  Jacob Koscinski of Charles Pinckney Elementary School won the third place trophy on tie break, also scoring 4.5.

Beaufort Academy won the elementary school team title.

Elementary School Grade Champions:
5th grade: Mason Grant Fox, Fort Mill Elementary School (tie break winner), Simeon Radev, Bamberg Elementary, Dru White, Whale Branch Elementary, and Alex Mazzeo, Beaufort Academy
4th grade: Kristopher Luo, Clemson Elementary School (tie break winner) and Chris Aluri, Midway Elementary School
3rd grade: Jaelen Esai White, Fort Mill Elementary School
2d grade: Kevin Jarr Rogers, Beaufort Academy, (tie break winner), and Brewer Jackson, Summit Drive Elementary School
1st grade: Thomas Mazzeo, Beaufort Academy
Kindergarten: Iii McDougall, Beaufort Academy