Joomla 3.1 Templates by FatCow Coupon


2010 Scholastic Championships

The 2010 Scholastic Championships were held at the Samuel A. Heyward Career & Technology Center in Columbia on March 6, 2010.  Nearly 90 students participated.

Games from High School: Boards 1 & 2


D.W. Daniel High School won the high school team trophy. The Governor's School for Science and Mathematics (GSSM) finished second. Kenzie Moore (1653),Michael Lauria (1946), and Morgan DSC00140 432x324Morgan Wang, Kenzie Moore, Michael LauriaWang (1122) tied for first in the High School section, each scoring 4.0. They all attend D.W. Daniel High School in Clemson, South Carolina. Kenzie Moore took home the first place trophy on tie break. Qianli Sun of Wando High School threw the High School Section into chaos with his upset win over top rated Michael Lauria in their second round encounter.

High School Grade Champions
12th grade: Qianli Sun, Wando High School, Mt. Pleasant, SC
11th grade: Thomas Fred Wells, GSSM, Hartsville, SC
10th grade: Daniel Caiello, Faith Heritage High School, Lexington, SC
9th grade: Christian Dunlap, Richland Northeast High School, Columbia,SC


Benjamin Caiello of Faith Heritage Middle School in Lexington, SC, won the middle school title, scoring a perfect 5.0. Kevis Tsao of R.C. Edwards Middle School and Nicholas George of Cherokee Trials Middle School tied for second, each scoring 4.0

R.C. Edwards Middle School won the middle school team championship. Faith Heritage finished second.

Middle School Grade Champions:
8th grade: Luke Lepak, St. Joseph's, Greenville, SC
7th grade: Gordon Zhang, R.C. Edwards Middle School, Clemson, SC
6th grade: Mowei Tang, R.C. Edwards Middle School, Clemson, SC


Thomas Leonardi of Spartanburg Day School, Perry Fleming of Bamberg Elementary School and Elias Longenecker of St. Mary's tied for first place, each with perfect 5.0 scores. Thomas Leonardi took home the first place trophy on tie break.

Pinckney Elementary School in Mt. Pleasant won the elementary school team title. Beaufort Academy finished second.

Elementary School Grade Champions:
5th grade: Kyle Mcsheehy, Pinckney Elementary School, Mt. Pleasant, SC
4th grade: Chris Hoogenboom, Riverview Christian School
3rd grade: Maxfield Trask, Riverview Christian School
2d grade: Patrick Lee Wang, Carver Elementary School, Florence, SC
1st grade: Kevin Jarr Rogers, Beaufort Academy, Beaufort, SC
Kindergarten: Thomas Mazzeo, Beaufort Academy, Beaufort, SC